So on Jan 1st I had to make a run to the hospital.  Happy New Year to me!  Starting it off right, by getting doped up off my gourd.  (I suffer from chronic migraines due to a closed-head injury.  I have regular meds that I take for it, but sometimes they just don't work and every 3-4 years or so I have to go get shot up with Morphine, Tordal and something for the nausea.  This time it was Zofran, in case you were wondering.)

Anyway, as anyone who has gone to the hospital knows, the triage nurse takes you in and asks you a bunch of questions.  Then they put you in a curtained off partition where are regular nurse re-asks you the same questions.  Then you sit around in a flimsy gown, shivering from the cold draft going up your back from the part in the gown, before the doc FINALLY comes in and asks the SAME questions the previous 2 nurses have asked.  I always have to wonder...why don't they just look at the chart that the first nurse made?

If you've ever had a migraine, and I know many of you have, you understand that thinking is not a strong point.  I'm actually not sure you actually do think.  Pain has a way of chasing away all your thoughts.  So for just this reason I have a card in my wallet that has a national registry access code on it so the hospital can look up ALL my information and medical history.

I handed this to the first nurse, but apparently I live to far in Bum-fuck cause he didn't really know what to do with it other than look at the little bit of info on it that I had given the 1st nurse a few moments earlier.  I even explained to him what to do with it, but...nothing.  WOW!  Sure glad I have that card.  Now I'm scared of what will happen if I'm ever unresponsive.

So the doc comes in and starts asking all kinds of questions.  He's asking about how much I smoke, drink, exercise, etc.  Then he asks these questions (no joke):

Doc:  Are you working?
Me:  No, not yet
Doc:  Do you have any special skills?
Me:  Excuse me?
Doc:  What kind of special skills do you have that will help you get a job?
Me:  How is that relevant to my current pain?
Doc:  I'm trying to get a social background.  So what sort of work are you looking for?

So I'm asking this...what does something I might do in the future have anything to do with the pain I am currently going through?  And how is any future employment considered part of my BACKground?

I could understand asking about a current or past work history.  Maybe I've been exposed to something, but future work?  Huh?  For a minute there, I thought maybe the doc was gonna give me a job.  (After talking to DJ, who took me, he confirmed that he was thinking the same things.)

So on our way TO the hospital a bumble-bee (which I'm allergic to), that was roughly the size of a small pony, flew in the window.  Since we were on our way to the hospital, I decided to just "GET THERE" and if I got stung, well, we were going to the right place.  Anyway, this bee now lives in my car and I have named it Sally.  (This really has nothing to do with the rest of this post, but it just popped into my head and I thought I would share and end this on a happy note.  Oh, and I didn't get stung.  See there is a happy ending!)
Kathy
1/3/2012 11:34:10 am

Has to be the drugs!!! bwahhahahahahahah

Reply
Kathy
1/3/2012 11:36:02 am

But seriously, I have never heard a hospital asking those kind of questions...that is just strange!!!! You never finished if they gave you what you needed to get rid of the headache...lol Hope your doing better...{{{hugs}}}

Reply
Sonja
1/3/2012 03:45:07 pm

I just noticed I can reply to your comment itself instead of doing it as a different comment. Did that make sense?

Reply
1/3/2012 03:43:16 pm

Oh, sorry. I sort of thought that was a given. Yes they did in fact give me the good stuff. Good enough that DJ tried to put me to bed after we got home and I kept "sneaking" out. In my drug induced state I thought I was being all stealty and apparently I was so NOT. I think the giggling was giving up my position.

I've had some risidual migrains since then, but I haven't had to take any more meds. But DJ is on stand-by because there is still some pain. I can stand to have the lights on, focus my eyes and stand to hear...well, anything, so it's improving. For a while I wanted to rip my face off to make the pain stop and now I'm back to wanting to rip other ppls faces off just for being alive. Yep, definately improving. XD

Reply
patty
1/3/2012 11:02:05 pm

he was trying to see if you could afford the bill he is gonna send you.

Reply
1/4/2012 12:31:50 pm

I din't think of that. Ha ha. Jokes on him. I can't afford the bill no matter what! lol

Reply



Leave a Reply.